# SENIOR GOLFERS SOCIETY OF GAUTENG COMMITTEE REPORT FOR THE YEAR 2017

Your Committee has pleasure in submitting the following report for the above year, and for the financial year ending 31 December 2017

#### **Obituaries**

We regret to advise the following members passed away during the year

James Young

Bill Bateman

**Bob Killops** 

Colin Rivett

#### Committee

The members of committee for the year under review were:

Alan Field-President

Rob Wassenaar – Captain

John Ludwig – Past President

John Marshall, John Balderson, Derick Finlayson, Vaughan Sammons,.

John Brownrigg tendered his resignation during the year

# **Secretariat**

Frank Rosslee

#### **Membership**

Membership of the Society as at 31 December 2017

	ACTIVE	NON-PLAYING	TOTAL
Honorary Life Members	11	5	16
Veteran Seniors	14	46	60
Ordinary Members	152	59	211
TOTAL	177	110	287

During the year 9 new members were admitted.

## **Honorary Life Membership**

At the last AGM John Kershaw was elected to this category of membership and it is proposed that this year this honour be extended to Past President John Brownrigg as well as Jimmy Marriott as a Past President

# **International Tours**

2 teams of 4 each, captained by Stuart Morris, played in the King Leopold Challenge in Belgium

# National Championships - Cape Town April 2017

The Seniors Nationals were hosted by Western Province in April 2017 and a team of 56 players from Gauteng enjoyed the local hospitality. The next tournament will be hosted in Johannesburg from the 17th to the 20th of April 2018. We wish all participants good luck.

## **Matches**

The annual match against the Senior Ladies was held in October. The match was won by the Senior Ladies by 280 to 264.

The match held in June at Royal against Gauteng North was narrowly won by ourselves, but the corresponding match held in Pretoria in November was easily won by Gauteng North

The Triangular played at Harrismith Golf Club was well attended and won by ourselves with Free State second.,

A quadrangular Tournament was held in Parys in August with OFS, N. Cape and Gauteng North and 12 players from each Society participated.

## **Competitions**

We had the pleasure of being hosted during the year by the following clubs, and we again thank them for their hospitality.

The Country Club Johannesburg, The River Club, Parkview Golf Club, Bryanston Country Club, Modderfontein Golf Club, Irene Country Club and Pretoria Country Club (these together with the Gauteng North Society), Randpark Golf Club and Wanderers Golf Club (which unfortunately was rained out).

Results	of maj	or	competitions	were as follows
~	$\alpha$			****

Gauteng Championship	Winner Runner-up Veteran's Cup Best 36 Holes	John Matthews -149 Gordon Huddy -154 Ian Tait -72 Martin Hutton - 82
Anniversary Cup	Winner Runner-up	Dave MacGillivray -41 Dave Ferguson -39
Keartland Trophy	Winners	Vaughan Sammons & Ponky Firer -41
	Runners-up	Ian Hancock & Dave Rigby – 40 oco
Satchwell Trophy	Winner Runner-up	Graham Royston -42 Berry Pavey -41 oco
Pinehurst Knockout	Winners	John Matthews & Ray White
	Runners-up	Kevin Nesbitt & Brian Murphy

## **Home Course**

We again record our sincere appreciation to the Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club for the privileges extended to our Society and members during the year. The Club has extended these privileges to our Society for the upcoming year for which we are highly appreciative.

#### Finance

Our thanks to Messrs Ernst & Young for their continuing support of our Society by providing the required annual audit of our accounts. They have very kindly agreed to continue this service for the next financial year.

We confirm that the financial statements present a satisfactory state of affairs and have been unqualified by the auditors.

# **Surplus Investments**

The Committee continues to invest a portion of the surplus funds that we currently have, in quality equities with SA Stock Brokers.

National Tournament 2018

This event will be held in Johannesburg at the Royal Johannesburg and Kensington

Golf Course and a tournament committee has been set up and comprises:

Chairman: John Marshall

General Purpose Officers: Chris Huddy, John Spencer

Golf programme: Kevin Sullivan

Finance; Derick Finlayson

Sponsorships: John Balderson, Terry Sutherland Ladies Programme: John Ludwig and Wendy Huddy

Committee for 2018/19

In the terms of the constitution, subject to confirmation at the AGM on the 22nd of

March 2018, the committee for the ensuing year will be:

President Rob Wassenaar Captain John Marshall Past President Alan Field

Committee Derick Finlayson, John Balderson John Ludwig, Vaughan

Sammons, Chris Bobbert and Rohan Sheppard

In conclusion, I wish to thank every member of the committee for their support and attention to the affairs of our Society. It has been an honour to have worked with you. A special thank you to Frank for his able and professional support during the year. I wish the incoming committee, in the face of a changing environment, the strength and wisdom to protect the ethos and principles of our great Society.

ALAN FIELD PRESIDENT